This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money
SpringWell WS1 vs Aquasana Rhino Well Water with UV: Which Should You Buy?
Specs verified 2026-10-05 from manufacturer pages and retailer listings. We have not lab-tested either system.
SpringWell WS1 Whole House Well Water Filter vs Aquasana Rhino Well Water with UV Whole House Filter: specs side by side
Verified fields only. A row is omitted when neither manufacturer publishes the figure.
| Spec | SpringWell WS1 Whole House Well Water Filter | Aquasana Rhino Well Water with UV Whole House Filter |
|---|---|---|
| Model | WS1 (Core, 1-4 bathrooms); WS4 (Pro, 4+ bathrooms) is the larger size on the same listing | WH-WELL-UVS (item 100403461). Owner's manual model WH-WELL-UV (Sep 2025; the earlier manual used EQ-WELL-UV); earlier retail SKU EQ-WELL-UV-PRO-AST included a salt-free conditioner and install kit. |
| Type | Iron filter | Whole-house filter |
| Treats | Iron, Manganese, Sulfur; also orange/black staining, rotten-egg odor | Bacteria, Sediment; also viruses (UV, up to 99.8% maker claim), chlorine, chloramines, lead, mercury, asbestos, microplastics, '78 contaminants' (Claryum claim) |
| Service flow | 12 GPMWS1: 12 GPM service flow. WS4: 20 GPM on the product page, but the WS1/WS4 installation manual lists WS4 at 18 GPM service. Page headline says 'Up to 20 GPM with no drop in water pressure'. Removal limits published: iron up to 7 ppm, hydrogen sulfide up to 8 ppm, manganese up to 1 ppm. Operating pressure 25-80 psi, pH 6.5-10. | 7 GPMRated flow 7.0 GPM; 'up to 14.7 gpm' peak flow per product page. Operating pressure 20-100 psi per owner's manual. |
| Capacity | Not stated'10+ year media life' per product page; no gallon figure published. | 500,000 gallons500,000 gallons or 5 years; 20 in. pre-filter replaced every 2 months (or 6 months with the optional Low Maintenance pre-filter); UV lamp replaced annually. |
| Media / technology | Air injection oxidation (AIO) single-tank system; backwashes oxidized contaminants to drain | Upflow dual-tank carbon + KDF (copper-zinc) media with 20 in. sediment pre-filter, 10 in. post-filter and UV lamp |
| Connection | 1 in. | 3/4 in. or 1 in. main lines (per product page) |
| Installation | DIYMarketed as 'ready to install on your terms' with a downloadable installation manual and video walk-through; requires a drain line and 120V power for the electronic head. Bypass valve is an add-on ($58.79). Manual says to follow all applicable plumbing codes. | DIY or proShipped with an assembly kit (Schedule 80 PVC components, drain valve, shut-off valve, tank connections) and a DIY owner's manual, but Aquasana states 'We strongly recommend hiring a licensed plumber'. No drain line or backwash required; UV needs a power outlet. |
| Warranty | Lifetime manufacturer warrantyLifetime: 'Manufacturer's lifetime warranty against defects' on fittings, media, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves and in/out heads under normal use; registered owner at the original installation address only. Electronic-head term conflict (read 2026-10-06): the Warranty tab on this product page says "Limited Warranty for a period of 5- years" for solid-state electronic heads, while springwellwater.com/warranty/ says "Limited Warranty for a period of 7- years"; both say 10 years for retention/mineral tanks 14 in. or larger. Page badge still reads '6-month money-back guarantee'. Return fine print on the product page: returns accepted within six months only for unused, uninstalled items in undamaged packaging, with a 10% restocking fee (up to 25% for refused deliveries) and shipping not refunded; the "6-month Performance Promise" says installed systems are not eligible for return unless SpringWell determines them defective. | 5-year manufacturer warranty'5-Year Limited Warranty' on the product page. Warranty PDF (Sep 2025) coverage table for WH-WELL-UV: Rhino system 5 years / 500,000 gallons; installation kit (fittings purchased with the original system) 12 months; pre- and post-filter housing units 12 months. Registration not required; void if moved from the original installation location; filter cartridges excluded; UV unit covered under its own manual. '90-Day Satisfaction Guarantee'. |
| Certifications | Not statedNo third-party system certification is stated on the product page. SpringWell's About page says systems are built 'with certified components, made in the US'. Re-checked 2026-10-06: product page text still contains no NSF, WQA, IAPMO or "certified" wording. WQA certified-product database (find.wqa.org/find-products) keyword searches for "SpringWell", "Spring Well", "Wise Water", "BlackComb" and "FutureSoft" each returned zero listings (a control search for "Pentair" returned listings). IAPMO listing directory could not be queried by script, so IAPMO status was not checked. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model. | NSF/ANSI 55 Class B (UV component)Product page: 'UV Filter is NSF tested and certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 55, Class B' and sterilizes 'up to 99.8% of bacteria and viruses'. Linked UV performance data sheet (May 2026, models AQ-UV-SF / AQ-UV-MF): 'System tested and certified by NSF international against NSF/ANSI 55 for Disinfection Performance, Class B.' Class B is the supplemental-disinfection class, not Class A. Owner's manual (Sep 2025) says only that the Rhino system is 'Independently tested for the reduction of bacteria, viruses, cysts, and other contaminants commonly found in well water'; no NSF/ANSI 42 or 53 certification is cited for the tank. WQA product database (find.wqa.org, read 2026-10-06) returns no listing for 'WH-WELL', 'EQ-WELL' or 'AQ-UV'; its Aquasana Rhino entries are other models (WH-1000, WH-1010, WH-1011, WH-1021). NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: System model WH-WELL-UVS / EQ-WELL-UV is not named in any NSF listing. Aquasana, Inc. (Haltom City, TX) has an NSF/ANSI 55 listing for two UV units only: "AQ-UV-MF | bulb AQ-UV-510L | 19 gpm | Disinfection Performance, Class B" and "AQ-UV-SF | bulb AQ-UV-300L | 6 gpm | Disinfection Performance, Class B", Point-of-Entry[G] [POE], where "[G] Product is Certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372" and "[POE] Product conforms to NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 health effects requirements." Whether this row's bundle ships the AQ-UV-MF was not established from the NSF page. |
| Dimensions | Tank 10 in. W x 54 in. H (64 in. with head); shipping 14 x 14 x 58 in. | 57 in. H x 11 in. diameter |
| Weight | 133 lb | Not stated |
| Price | $2,231 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026 | $1,749 (sale) at Aquasana as of Oct 2026 |
| Stages | Not stated | 4 |
Frequently asked questions
Does the Aquasana Rhino Well Water with UV remove iron?
No. Aquasana's product page does not claim iron, manganese or hydrogen sulfide reduction for this system; its claims cover sediment, chlorine-type contaminants, metals such as lead and mercury, and bacteria and viruses through the UV stage. On a well with iron, it belongs after an iron filter.
Does the SpringWell WS1 kill bacteria?
No. The WS1 is an air-injection filter for iron, manganese and hydrogen sulfide and has no disinfection stage. SpringWell sells a separate UV system, and it is the Aquasana's UV stage, certified to NSF/ANSI 55 Class B, that treats bacteria in this comparison.
Which one is easier to install?
The Aquasana needs no drain line or backwash, only an outlet for the UV lamp, but Aquasana strongly recommends a licensed plumber. The WS1 is sold as a DIY install with a manual and video but needs a drain line and a 120V outlet, and the bypass valve is sold separately. Neither is a weekend job for someone who has never cut into a main line.
Which has the better warranty?
SpringWell: a lifetime warranty against defects on tanks, media, valves and heads (5 years on the electronic head per the product page, 7 per the warranty page), against Aquasana's 5-year or 500,000-gallon limited warranty with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. Both are void if the system is moved from the original installation, and SpringWell's 6-month return window covers only unused, uninstalled items, with a 10% restocking fee.