This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money
SpringWell WS1 Whole House Well Water Filter
Iron filter · 12 GPM · Treats iron, manganese, sulfur · $2,231 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026

Specifications
Verified 2026-10-06. Fields the manufacturer does not publish are marked “Not stated”.
| Model | WS1 (Core, 1-4 bathrooms); WS4 (Pro, 4+ bathrooms) is the larger size on the same listing |
|---|---|
| Type | Iron filter |
| Treats | Iron, Manganese, Sulfur; also orange/black staining, rotten-egg odor |
| Service flow | 12 GPMWS1: 12 GPM service flow. WS4: 20 GPM on the product page, but the WS1/WS4 installation manual lists WS4 at 18 GPM service. Page headline says 'Up to 20 GPM with no drop in water pressure'. Removal limits published: iron up to 7 ppm, hydrogen sulfide up to 8 ppm, manganese up to 1 ppm. Operating pressure 25-80 psi, pH 6.5-10. |
| Capacity | Not stated'10+ year media life' per product page; no gallon figure published. |
| Media / technology | Air injection oxidation (AIO) single-tank system; backwashes oxidized contaminants to drain |
| Connection | 1 in. |
| Installation | DIYMarketed as 'ready to install on your terms' with a downloadable installation manual and video walk-through; requires a drain line and 120V power for the electronic head. Bypass valve is an add-on ($58.79). Manual says to follow all applicable plumbing codes. |
| Warranty | Lifetime manufacturer warrantyLifetime: 'Manufacturer's lifetime warranty against defects' on fittings, media, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves and in/out heads under normal use; registered owner at the original installation address only. Electronic-head term conflict (read 2026-10-06): the Warranty tab on this product page says "Limited Warranty for a period of 5- years" for solid-state electronic heads, while springwellwater.com/warranty/ says "Limited Warranty for a period of 7- years"; both say 10 years for retention/mineral tanks 14 in. or larger. Page badge still reads '6-month money-back guarantee'. Return fine print on the product page: returns accepted within six months only for unused, uninstalled items in undamaged packaging, with a 10% restocking fee (up to 25% for refused deliveries) and shipping not refunded; the "6-month Performance Promise" says installed systems are not eligible for return unless SpringWell determines them defective. |
| Certifications | Not statedNo third-party system certification is stated on the product page. SpringWell's About page says systems are built 'with certified components, made in the US'. Re-checked 2026-10-06: product page text still contains no NSF, WQA, IAPMO or "certified" wording. WQA certified-product database (find.wqa.org/find-products) keyword searches for "SpringWell", "Spring Well", "Wise Water", "BlackComb" and "FutureSoft" each returned zero listings (a control search for "Pentair" returned listings). IAPMO listing directory could not be queried by script, so IAPMO status was not checked. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model. |
| Dimensions | Tank 10 in. W x 54 in. H (64 in. with head); shipping 14 x 14 x 58 in. |
| Weight | 133 lb |
| Price | $2,231 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026 |
Published features
- Chemical-free air injection oxidation (AIO) in a single tank
- Removes iron up to 7 ppm, hydrogen sulfide up to 8 ppm, manganese up to 1 ppm
- Bluetooth-controlled electronic head
- Automatic backwash to drain resets the air pocket
- 10+ year media life
- Free US shipping, ships in 3-5 business days
- 6-month return window for unused, uninstalled items only, with a 10% restocking fee (the page badge calls it a '6-month money-back guarantee')
Pros and cons
Pros
- Treats iron, manganese and hydrogen sulfide in one tank with no chemicals or salt
- High published limits (7 ppm iron, 8 ppm H2S) for a residential air-injection unit
- Lifetime warranty on tank, media and valve; electronic head covered 5 years per the product page's warranty text (SpringWell's warranty page says 7)
- Bluetooth head and 12 GPM service flow for the 1-4 bathroom size
Cons
- No published NSF/ANSI system certification
- Needs a drain and an electrical outlet; bypass valve sold separately
- SpringWell holds the order until a paid ($134.25) well water test is completed
- Heavy (133 lb shipping weight) and 64 in. tall with the head
- The '6-month money-back guarantee' badge covers only unused, uninstalled items (10% restocking fee); an installed system is returnable only if SpringWell finds it defective
Our take
Where to buy
$2,231 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026. Prices change; the links open the current listing.
Related
Similar systems
Sources
Specifications above were checked against these pages on 2026-10-06. Retailer listings are affiliate links; the rest are plain reference links.
- https://www.springwellwater.com/product/well-water/whole-house-iron-filter/
- https://www.springwellwater.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/WS1_WS4-Instructions-Instructions_.pdf
- https://www.springwellwater.com/warranty/
- https://www.springwellwater.com/about/
- https://find.wqa.org/find-products
- https://www.springwellwater.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/WS1_WS4-Instructions-Instructions_-1.pdf