This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money
Kinetico Premier XP S250 Water Softener
Water softener · 11.5 GPM · Treats hardness, iron · Dealer quote only
Sold through authorized dealers only; pricing is by in-home quote.

Specifications
Verified 2026-10-06. Fields the manufacturer does not publish are marked “Not stated”.
| Model | S250 XP (product no. 16532); S250 OD XP (16533) outdoor; S150 XP (16531) smaller |
|---|---|
| Type | Water softener |
| Treats | Hardness, Iron; also barium, radium 226/228 (NSF/ANSI 44 certified reduction) |
| Service flow | 11.5 GPMKinetico Premier XP Performance Data Sheet (Kinetico document 16528A, dated 04.18.2024; copy read on an authorized dealer's site because kinetico.com does not link it): S250 XP 'Service flow rate at 15 psi (or less) drop: 11.5 gpm (43.5 L/min)'. S150 XP: 9 gpm; S250 OD XP (Overdrive, both tanks in service): 23 gpm. Kinetico's own product page and owner's manual give no GPM figure ('generous flow rates'). |
| Capacity | 14,686 grainsPerformance Data Sheet 16528A, S250 XP: resin 0.7 cu ft per tank; capacity per cycle 10,837 grains at 2.4 lb salt (4,515 grains per lb, the efficiency-rated setting, 'Meets California requirements of 4000 grains exchanged per pound of salt') or 14,686 grains at 4.4 lb salt (3,338 grains per lb). The higher setting is recorded in grains. Twin-tank demand regeneration means capacity is per tank per cycle, so these numbers are much smaller than single-tank softener ratings and are not directly comparable. Max flow to drain during regeneration 2.1 gpm. |
| Media / technology | Non-electric, twin-tank, water-powered demand softener with countercurrent regeneration (ion exchange resin) |
| Connection | Not stated |
| Installation | ProfessionalSold and installed only through authorized Kinetico dealers: 'Water softener installation is a straightforward process when handled by a trained professional.' |
| Warranty | 10-year manufacturer warrantyKinetico Limited Warranty, 'Premier Series and Premier Series XP Water Softeners': ten years on all parts including ion exchange resin, by-pass valves and prefilter assemblies, and ten years on polyglass resin/media tanks and regenerant storage tank. Resin coverage requires dechlorination upstream when oxidizers are present. Freight and labor not included; transferable at the original site. |
| Certifications | NSF/ANSI 44 (hardness, barium, radium 226/228; certified by WQA); NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 (lead content; certified by WQA); CSA B483.1 (certified by WQA)Owner's manual and Performance Data Sheet: 'Kinetico Premier XP Water Softeners are tested and certified by WQA against the requirements of NSF/ANSI Standard 44 for softener performance and chemical reduction of barium and radium 226/228. They are also certified to NSF/ANSI 372, Drinking Water System - Lead Content and the CSA Standard B483.1 - Drinking Water Treatment Systems.' Confirmed in the WQA product database (2026-10-06): Kinetico Incorporated, brand 'KINETICO PREMIER XP', model 'S250 XP' (and 'S250 OD XP'), 'DIR-Efficiency Rated', listed under NSF/ANSI 44 with reduction claims 'Barium; Hardness; Radium 226/228', under NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 and under CSA B483.1. Data sheet footnote: 'Q850 OD XP w/Chloraban is not Tested and Certified by WQA.' Soluble iron removal is a maker claim, not a certified claim. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model; the certification above is WQA's, not NSF's. |
| Dimensions | Not stated |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Price | Dealer quote only |
Published features
- Non-electric operation powered by moving water
- Twin-tank design for continuous soft water during regeneration
- Demand regeneration based on actual usage
- Countercurrent regeneration
- QuickFlo high flow technology
- XP precise calibration to home water conditions
- Removes soluble iron from water (maker claim)
Pros and cons
Pros
- WQA certified to NSF/ANSI 44 with a 10-year all-parts warranty that includes the resin
- No electricity or timers; twin tanks avoid hard-water bypass during regeneration
- Maker states it removes soluble iron, with iron-cleaning salt recommended
Cons
- Dealer-only; no published price or dimensions, and flow and capacity appear only in the performance data sheet, not on kinetico.com
- Iron removal is not part of the certification and requires iron-cleaning additives
- Resin warranty is voided if oxidizers are present without an upstream dechlorinator
Our take
Where to buy
Dealer quote only.
Sold through authorized dealers only; pricing is by in-home quote.
Related
Similar systems
Sources
Specifications above were checked against these pages on 2026-10-06. Retailer listings are affiliate links; the rest are plain reference links.
- https://www.kinetico.com/water-softeners/kinetico-premier-xp/kinetico-premier-xp-s250/
- https://www.kinetico.com/water-softeners/kinetico-premier-xp/
- https://www.kinetico.com/media/wzhfaodz/16522e_premier_series_xp_owner_s_manual_07282025.pdf
- https://www.kinetico.com/media/4nubvbnd/16662d_warranty_limited_kinetico_residential_applications-10-year-qf-tank-05262021.pdf
- https://aqualifeusa.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/16528a_performance_datasheet_premierxp_sorteners_04.18.2024.pdf
- https://find.wqa.org/find-products/ctl/detail/mid/1054/cid/kinetico_incorporate/sid/2/keyword/kinetico
- https://find.wqa.org/find-products/ctl/detail/mid/1054/cid/kinetico_incorporate/sid/29/keyword/kinetico
- https://find.wqa.org/find-products/ctl/detail/mid/1054/cid/kinetico_incorporate/sid/27/keyword/kinetico