This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money
SpringWell SS1 Salt-Based Water Softener
Water softener · 11 GPM · Treats hardness · $1,607 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026

Specifications
Verified 2026-10-06. Fields the manufacturer does not publish are marked “Not stated”.
| Model | SS1 (1-3 bathrooms, 32,000 grains); SS4 (4-6 bathrooms, 48,000 grains) and SS+ (7+ bathrooms, 80,000 grains) on the same listing |
|---|---|
| Type | Water softener |
| Treats | Hardness; also water spots, scale buildup |
| Service flow | 11 GPMSS1: 11 GPM. SS4: 13 GPM. SS+: 20 GPM. Operating pressure 25-80 psi, 36-120 F, pH 6.5-10. |
| Capacity | 32,000 grains |
| Media / technology | Ion-exchange resin with metered (demand) regeneration and Bluetooth head |
| Connection | 1 in. |
| Installation | DIYDownloadable SS1/SS4/SS+ installation manual; needs a drain line and power supply (included). Bypass valve added to cart as an installation add-on. |
| Warranty | Lifetime manufacturer warrantyLifetime warranty on covered items (fittings, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves, in/out heads) per product page. Electronic-head term conflict (read 2026-10-06): the Warranty tab on this product page says "Limited Warranty for a period of 5- years" for solid-state electronic heads, while springwellwater.com/warranty/ says "Limited Warranty for a period of 7- years"; both say 10 years for retention/mineral tanks 14 in. or larger. Page badge reads '6-month money-back guarantee'. Return fine print on the product page: returns accepted within six months only for unused, uninstalled items in undamaged packaging, with a 10% restocking fee (up to 25% for refused deliveries) and shipping not refunded; the "6-month Performance Promise" says installed systems are not eligible for return unless SpringWell determines them defective. |
| Certifications | Not statedNo NSF/ANSI 44 or other third-party certification stated on the product page. Re-checked 2026-10-06: product page text still contains no NSF, WQA, IAPMO or "certified" wording. WQA certified-product database (find.wqa.org/find-products) keyword searches for "SpringWell", "Spring Well", "Wise Water", "BlackComb" and "FutureSoft" each returned zero listings (a control search for "Pentair" returned listings). IAPMO listing directory could not be queried by script, so IAPMO status was not checked. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model. |
| Dimensions | Resin tank 9 in. W x 48 in. H (57 in. with head); brine tank 18 in. W x 33 in. H round; shipping 13 x 13 x 52 in. |
| Weight | 84 lb |
| Price | $1,607 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026 |
Published features
- 32,000 grain capacity (SS1)
- Removes calcium and magnesium hardness minerals
- Smart (metered) regeneration saves salt and water
- Bluetooth head for settings from a mobile device
- Includes softener tank, brine tank, drain line, MNPT fittings, electronic head, power supply
- Free US shipping; 6-month return window for unused, uninstalled items only, with a 10% restocking fee (the page badge calls it a '6-month money-back guarantee')
Pros and cons
Pros
- True ion-exchange softening with metered regeneration
- Bluetooth control head
- Lifetime warranty on tanks and valves; electronic head covered 5 years per the product page's warranty text (SpringWell's warranty page says 7)
Cons
- Needs salt, a drain and electricity
- 11 GPM service flow is the lowest of the SpringWell well-water line-up
- No published NSF/ANSI 44 certification
- The '6-month money-back guarantee' badge covers only unused, uninstalled items (10% restocking fee); an installed system is returnable only if SpringWell finds it defective
Our take
Where to buy
$1,607 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026. Prices change; the links open the current listing.
Related
Similar systems
Sources
Specifications above were checked against these pages on 2026-10-06. Retailer listings are affiliate links; the rest are plain reference links.