This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money
SpringWell FutureSoft FS1 Salt-Free Water Conditioner
Water softener · 12 GPM · Treats hardness · $1,785 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026

Specifications
Verified 2026-10-06. Fields the manufacturer does not publish are marked “Not stated”.
| Model | FS1 (1-3 bathrooms); FS4 (4-6 bathrooms) and FS+ (7+ bathrooms) on the same listing |
|---|---|
| Type | Water softener |
| Treats | Hardness; also scale buildup (prevents up to 95%, maker claim) |
| Service flow | 12 GPMFS1: 12 GPM. FS4: 15 GPM. FS+: 20 GPM. Up-flow; operating pressure 20-80 psi; max hardness 81 gpg; pH 7.0-9.5; max free chlorine 3 ppm; max salinity 35,000 ppm. SpringWell calls it a 'Salt-Free Water Conditioner (Softener Alternative)' - it does not remove hardness minerals. |
| Capacity | Not stated'5+ year lifespan' media; no gallon rating published. |
| Media / technology | FutureSoft template-assisted crystallization (TAC) media |
| Connection | 1 in. |
| Installation | DIYDownloadable FS1/FS4 installation manual; no salt, drain line, backwash or electricity required. Bypass valve sold as an add-on. |
| Warranty | Lifetime manufacturer warranty'Manufacturer's lifetime warranty against defects' on fittings, FutureSoft media, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves and in/out heads under normal use. Page badge reads '6-month money-back guarantee'. Return fine print on the product page: returns accepted within six months only for unused, uninstalled items in undamaged packaging, with a 10% restocking fee (up to 25% for refused deliveries) and shipping not refunded; the "6-month Performance Promise" says installed systems are not eligible for return unless SpringWell determines them defective. |
| Certifications | Not statedNo third-party certification (NSF/ANSI, DVGW, IAPMO) stated on the product page for the 95% scale-prevention claim. Re-checked 2026-10-06: product page text still contains no NSF, WQA, IAPMO or "certified" wording. WQA certified-product database (find.wqa.org/find-products) keyword searches for "SpringWell", "Spring Well", "Wise Water", "BlackComb" and "FutureSoft" each returned zero listings (a control search for "Pentair" returned listings). IAPMO listing directory could not be queried by script, so IAPMO status was not checked. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model. |
| Dimensions | Tank 6 in. W x 35 in. H (39 in. with head); shipping 10.25 x 10.25 x 39 in. |
| Weight | 23 lb |
| Price | $1,785 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026 |
Published features
- Template-assisted crystallization converts hardness minerals into suspended crystals
- Prevents up to 95% of scale buildup (maker claim)
- No salt, no drain, no backwash, no electricity, no wasted water
- Up to 81 gpg hardness
- 5+ year media lifespan
- Includes pre-filter housing with 5-micron sediment filter, spanner wrench, hose bib and MNPT fitting
- 6-month return window for unused, uninstalled items only, with a 10% restocking fee (the page badge calls it a '6-month money-back guarantee')
Pros and cons
Pros
- No salt, drain or power; 6 in. tank fits tight spaces
- Handles up to 81 gpg hardness at 12 GPM
- Lifetime warranty on media and tank
Cons
- Conditions rather than softens: hardness minerals stay in the water
- No third-party certification cited for the scale-prevention claim
- pH 7.0-9.5 and 3 ppm free chlorine limits; not rated for iron or manganese pre-treatment
- The '6-month money-back guarantee' badge covers only unused, uninstalled items (10% restocking fee); an installed system is returnable only if SpringWell finds it defective
Our take
Where to buy
$1,785 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026. Prices change; the links open the current listing.
Related
Similar systems
Sources
Specifications above were checked against these pages on 2026-10-06. Retailer listings are affiliate links; the rest are plain reference links.