Skip to main content
Well Water Filtration
Menu

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money

SpringWell

SpringWell UV Water Purification System (15 GPM)

UV disinfection · 15 GPM · Treats bacteria · $1,101 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026

The SpringWell UV Water Purification System (sold as the BlackComb UV Disinfectant System) is a UV-C lamp in a stainless steel reactor. It is rated up to 15 GPM for 1-7 bathrooms, 10-150 psi and 36-104 F, with 1 in. MNPT connections, 4 by 20 in. The 99.9% bacteria and virus figure is a manufacturer claim; no NSF/ANSI 55 certification or UV dose is published.

The color-screen controller counts down lamp life and alarms at replacement time. The lamp is replaced every 365 days; the page lists the bulb at $118.65 and sleeve at $83.99, roughly $200 a year. The manual voids the warranty if untreated water exceeds 7 gpg hardness, 0.3 ppm iron, 0.05 ppm manganese, 0.1 ppm tannins or 1 NTU turbidity, or falls below 75% UV transmittance, so most well water needs pre-treatment.

Price was $1,100.50 at springwellwater.com as of Oct 2026 (sale; list $1,294.70). The page shows a lifetime badge, but the BlackComb manual states 10 years on the reactor, 3 on ballasts and controllers and 1 on lamps, sensors and sleeves; we use the manual. Returns are accepted within 6 months only for unused, uninstalled items, with a 10% restocking fee. Self-install with an owner's manual; needs a power outlet.

SpringWell UV Water Purification System (15 GPM) well water uv disinfection

Specifications

Verified 2026-10-06. Fields the manufacturer does not publish are marked “Not stated”.

SpringWell UV Water Purification System (15 GPM) specifications
ModelSKU SPRW-UV-15gpm on the product page; sold as 'BlackComb UV Disinfectant System'. The page does not say which BlackComb manual model this is: its 20 in. height fits the manual's high-output -15C reactor (3.5 x 20.0 in.), not the 40 in. standard -15 reactor.
TypeUV disinfection
TreatsBacteria; also viruses, waterborne pathogens
Service flow15 GPM'Up to 15 GPM with no drop in water pressure'; 1-7 bathrooms; operating pressure 10-150 psi; 36-104 F. UV dose is not published on the product page; the BlackComb manual's specification tables rate the 15 gpm figure at 30 mJ/cm2 at 95% UVT (the high-output -15C models are listed at 11 gpm at 40 mJ/cm2). Manual warranty limits: hardness over 7 gpg, iron over 0.3 ppm, manganese over 0.05 ppm, tannins over 0.1 ppm, turbidity over 1 NTU or UVT under 75% void the warranty, so pre-treatment is required on most well water.
CapacityNot statedReplace lamp every 365 days; replacement bulb $118.65 and sleeve $83.99 on the product page.
Media / technologyUltraviolet (UV-C) lamp in stainless steel reactor with electronic controller and lamp-life alerts
Connection1 in. MNPT
InstallationDIYOwner's manual provided for self-install; manual advises not to perform maintenance unless comfortable and to leave clearance for lamp removal. Needs a power outlet.
Warranty10-year manufacturer warrantyCONFLICT, still unresolved by SpringWell (re-read 2026-10-06): the product page shows a 'Lifetime warranty' badge and its Warranty tab reproduces the general SpringWell text (lifetime on fittings, media, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves and in/out heads; 5 years on solid-state electronic heads), none of which names UV reactors, ballasts or lamps. springwellwater.com/warranty/ has no UV-specific section. The BlackComb UV owner's manual linked from the product page states a 'Ten (10) year Limited Warranty on the stainless steel reactors', 'Three (3) year Limited Warranty on the ballasts and controllers' and 'One (1) year Limited Warranty on all ultraviolet lamps, UV sensors and quartz sleeves', original purchaser only, not transferable, and calls itself the sole and exclusive warranty. Recorded the manual's reactor term (10). Return fine print on the product page: returns accepted within six months only for unused, uninstalled items in undamaged packaging, with a 10% restocking fee (up to 25% for refused deliveries) and shipping not refunded; the "6-month Performance Promise" says installed systems are not eligible for return unless SpringWell determines them defective.
CertificationsNot statedNo NSF/ANSI 55 or other third-party certification stated on the product page or in the manual. The '99.9% of bacteria and viruses' figure is a manufacturer claim, not a cited certification. Re-checked 2026-10-06: product page text still contains no NSF, WQA, IAPMO or "certified" wording. WQA certified-product database (find.wqa.org/find-products) keyword searches for "SpringWell", "Spring Well", "Wise Water", "BlackComb" and "FutureSoft" each returned zero listings (a control search for "Pentair" returned listings). IAPMO listing directory could not be queried by script, so IAPMO status was not checked. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model.
DimensionsSystem width 4 in. x height 20 in.
WeightNot stated
Price$1,101 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026

Published features

  • Chemical-free UV disinfection
  • Up to 15 GPM with no pressure drop
  • Color-screen controller with lamp-life countdown and QR-code lamp-change help
  • Annual lamp replacement with audible/visual alerts
  • Preserves taste and odor
  • Can be added to any SpringWell whole-house system

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 15 GPM rating covers most whole-house flows
  • Controller shows remaining lamp life and alarms at replacement time
  • 10-year reactor warranty per manual

Cons

  • No NSF/ANSI 55 certification and no published UV dose
  • Manual voids warranty if iron exceeds 0.3 ppm or hardness exceeds 7 gpg without pre-treatment
  • Lamp and sleeve are 1-year warranty consumables (about $200 per year at listed prices)

Our take

This UV makes sense as the last stage on a SpringWell train where the water is already filtered, softened and clear, and you want lamp-life alerts and a 15 GPM rating. The trade-off is certification: it has no NSF/ANSI 55 listing and no published dose. If you need certified disinfection, the Pentair Premium UV is NSF/ANSI 55 Class A and the Aquasana Rhino's UV is Class B.

Not sure it is the right size for your flow and your water test? Work through the sizing guide, or compare every system we cover on the best well water filtration systems (2026) list.

Where to buy

$1,101 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026. Prices change; the links open the current listing.