This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money
SpringWell WSSS1 Well Water Filter + Salt-Based Softener Combo
Combination system · 11 GPM · Treats iron, manganese, sulfur, hardness · $3,124 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026

Specifications
Verified 2026-10-06. Fields the manufacturer does not publish are marked “Not stated”.
| Model | WSSS1 (Core: WS1 iron filter + SS1 softener); WSSS4 (Pro: WS4 + SS4) |
|---|---|
| Type | Combination system |
| Treats | Iron, Manganese, Sulfur, Hardness; also orange/black staining, water spots, scale buildup |
| Service flow | 11 GPMWSSS1: iron filter 12 GPM, softener 11 GPM (recorded the lower figure). WSSS4: iron filter 20 GPM, softener 13 GPM. Pressure 25-80 psi; pH 6.5-10. |
| Capacity | 32,000 grains |
| Media / technology | Air injection oxidation tank + ion-exchange softener with metered regeneration |
| Connection | 1 in. |
| Installation | DIYDownloadable installation manual; both tanks need drain lines and power. Bypass valve ($58.79) and installation connector ($83.99) add-ons. |
| Warranty | Lifetime manufacturer warrantyLifetime manufacturer's warranty against defects on fittings, media, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves and in/out heads. Electronic-head term conflict (read 2026-10-06): the Warranty tab on this product page says "Limited Warranty for a period of 5- years" for solid-state electronic heads, while springwellwater.com/warranty/ says "Limited Warranty for a period of 7- years"; both say 10 years for retention/mineral tanks 14 in. or larger. Page badge reads '6-month money-back guarantee'. Return fine print on the product page: returns accepted within six months only for unused, uninstalled items in undamaged packaging, with a 10% restocking fee (up to 25% for refused deliveries) and shipping not refunded; the "6-month Performance Promise" says installed systems are not eligible for return unless SpringWell determines them defective. |
| Certifications | Not statedNo third-party certification stated. The combo page's spec table lists only the softener tank dimensions; the 133 lb shipping weight matches the WS1 alone. Re-checked 2026-10-06: product page text still contains no NSF, WQA, IAPMO or "certified" wording. WQA certified-product database (find.wqa.org/find-products) keyword searches for "SpringWell", "Spring Well", "Wise Water", "BlackComb" and "FutureSoft" each returned zero listings (a control search for "Pentair" returned listings). IAPMO listing directory could not be queried by script, so IAPMO status was not checked. NSF certified-product database (info.nsf.org), searched 2026-10-06: no matching listing found for this model. |
| Dimensions | Softener tank 9 x 48 in. (57 in. with head) + brine tank 18 x 33 in.; iron filter tank 10 x 54 in. per WS1 page; shipping box listed 14 x 14 x 58 in. |
| Weight | 133 lb |
| Price | $3,124 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026 |
Published features
- Whole House Iron Filter (WS1) plus 32,000-grain salt softener (SS1)
- Reduces iron, sulfur and manganese and removes hardness minerals
- Smart regeneration saves salt and water
- Bluetooth control heads
- Lifetime warranty; 6-month return window for unused, uninstalled items only, with a 10% restocking fee (the page badge calls it a '6-month money-back guarantee')
- Ships free in 3-5 business days
Pros and cons
Pros
- Full treatment train for iron/manganese/sulfur plus true softening
- $680 combo saving vs. buying separately (per product page on 2026-10-05; not re-read 2026-10-06)
Cons
- Two drain lines, two power connections and salt refills
- Softener side limits service flow to 11 GPM
- No published NSF/ANSI certifications
- The '6-month money-back guarantee' badge covers only unused, uninstalled items (10% restocking fee); an installed system is returnable only if SpringWell finds it defective
Our take
Where to buy
$3,124 (sale) at SpringWell as of Oct 2026. Prices change; the links open the current listing.
Related
Similar systems
Sources
Specifications above were checked against these pages on 2026-10-06. Retailer listings are affiliate links; the rest are plain reference links.